At a glance

Cambridge English exams are accepted by over 13,500 universities, employers and governments around the world. The exams can open doors to higher education, improve employment opportunities, and because they are globally recognised, can increase learners’ choices for study or work.

Start dates

Computer Based Exams: FCE = 18 Feb, 11 Apr, 20 May, 08 Jul, 04 Aug, 22 Sep, 14 Oct / Paper Based Exams: PET = 18 Mar, 08 Jun, 01 Dec; FCE = 10 Mar, 03 Jun, 28 Nov; CAE = 10 Mar, 03 Jun, 29 Nov

Length

The computer based exam is usually delivered in one day and the paper based exam is usually delivered in two days: one day for Written Papers, and one day for the Speaking Test.

Hours per week

N/A

Levels available

Cambridge English: Preliminary (PET), Cambridge English: First (FCE), and Cambridge English: Advanced (CAE).

fees

Cambridge Exam Fee (all sessions and levels): $310. Certificate Courier Fee: $60

Schools

CCEL Christchurch

Exam Format

  • CCEL offers paper based and computer based Cambridge FCE exams and paper based PET and CAE exams.
  • The speaking test is taken face to face, with two (sometimes three) candidates and two examiners.
  • The PET exam has 3 papers: Reading and Writing (1hr 30 mins), Listening (35 minutes), Speaking (10-12 minutes per pair).
  • The FCE exam has 4 Papers: Reading and Use of English (1hr 15 mins), Writing (1 hr 20 mins), Listening (about 40 mins), Speaking (14 minutes per pair).
  • The CAE exam has 4 Papers: Reading and Use of English (1hr 30 mins), Writing (1 hr 30 mins), Listening (about 40 mins), Speaking (15 minutes per pair).

Important Dates

Please see below for our computer based and paper based exam dates. Please also download them here: www.ccel.co.nz/help/resources/ (Course Information)

Computer Based Sessions (FCE only):

Saturday 18 February 2017 (Entry Deadline: Friday 03 February)
Tuesday 11 April 2017 (Entry Deadline: Tuesday 28 March)
Saturday 20 May 2017 (Entry Deadline: Friday 05 May)
Saturday 08 July 2017 (Entry Deadline: Friday 23 June)
Friday 04 August 2017 (Entry Deadline: Friday 21 July)
Friday 22 September 2017 (Entry Deadline: Friday 08 September)
Saturday 14 October 2017 (Entry Deadline: Friday 29 September)

Paper Based Sessions:

March 2017
Written Papers:
PET - Saturday 18 March
FCE - Friday 10 March
CAE - Saturday 11 March
Speaking Tests:
PET - Friday 17 March
FCE/CAE - Thursday 09 March
Entry Deadlines:
PET/FCE/CAE - Friday 03 February

June 2017
Written Papers:
PET - Thursday 08 June
FCE - Saturday 03 June
CAE - Saturday 03 June
Speaking Tests:
PET - Friday 09 June
FCE/CAE - Friday 02 June
Entry Deadlines:
PET - Friday 05 May
FCE/CAE - Friday 21 April

November/December 2017
Written Papers:
PET - Friday 01 December
FCE - Tuesday 28 November
CAE - Wednesday 29 November
Speaking Tests:
PET/FCE/CAE - Monday 27 November
Entry Deadlines:
PET/FCE/CAE - Friday 20 October

Registration

Please register for a Cambridge Exam by reading the Cambridge Exam Terms and Conditions and completing the Cambridge Exam Registration Form, found here: www.ccel.co.nz/help/resources/ (Course Information).

Return it by post, email, fax or in person to:
CCEL Christchurch, University of Canterbury Campus
Carpark 1, Solway Avenue
Ilam
PO Box 31212
Christchurch 8444
Email: study@ccel.co.nz
Fax: +64 3 343 3791